Subscribe to My Feed

Tell a Friend

  • Polls

    How Is My Site? / ¿Cómo es mi sitio web?

    View Results

    Loading ... Loading ...
  • Recent Comments:

  • « | Home | »

    Nominate a LAC Candidate for the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards

    By Keith R | September 20, 2008

    Topics: Sustainable Tourism | No Comments »

    1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

    The deadline for nominating candidates for these awards is 15 December. There are many worthy candidates in Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC) — my friends at Barbados Free Press, for example, have suggested a worthy one in the hopes that such an award will help boost tourism on that island. I am not going to endorse that nomination or any other specific one here at Temas (as choosing would be difficult and I would be bound to upset someone with whatever choice I made), but I would love to hear in the comments of any LAC candidates you think should be nominated and why.


    From the World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC):

    WTTC calls for entries for top sustainable tourism award

    The World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) – the business leaders’ forum for the Travel & Tourism industry – today announced its call for entries for the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, WTTC’s sustainable tourism accolade, in association with Travelport and The Leading Travel Companies Conservation Foundation.

    The Tourism for Tomorrow Awards are presented annually to tourism organizations that are demonstrating best practices including helping to improve the livelihoods of communities and supporting the protection of natural and cultural heritage through sustainable tourism development. The Awards are given in four different categories addressing all sectors of the Travel & Tourism industry:

    Destination Stewardship Award – For destinations comprising a network of tourism enterprises and organizations that show dedication to, and success in, maintaining a program of sustainable tourism management at the destination level.

    Conservation Award – Open to any tourism business, organization or attraction able to demonstrate a direct contribution to the conservation of nature.

    Community Benefit Award – For a tourism initiative that has effectively demonstrated tangible benefits for local communities, including capacity building, the transfer of industry skills and support for community development.

    Global Tourism Business Award – Open to a large company operating in multiple destinations with at least 200 full-time employees from any sector of Travel & Tourism, this award recognizes best practice in sustainable tourism at the large scale business level.

    From the time they were taken over by WTTC in 2004, the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards have expanded their global reach attracting applications from over 40 countries across the world. In 2008, the winners included tourism businesses and organizations from the USA, Honduras, Thailand and Australia. Best practice case studies can be found online on – the Award’s brand new website.

    WTTC has extended the information available on previous winners and finalists, as well as created an online application facility allowing easy submission of entries. The deadline for entries is December 15, 2008. Finalists and winners will be honored at a special ceremony at the 9th Global Travel & Tourism Summit (location tbc).

    “WTTC has been the proud steward of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards for five years,” said Jean-Claude Baumgarten, WTTC president, “supporting, promoting and rewarding best practice in sustainable tourism. This program showcases those companies and organizations that have contributed to helping communities thrive through tourism; to protecting cultural heritage and the conservation of natural habitats; to capacity building and holistic, sustainable management.”

    Judging of the entries involves a three-step review process and includes on-site evaluations. The international judging panel is chaired by Costas Christ, renowned expert on sustainable tourism. “We are at a turning point in the history of modern travel as a growing number of tourism businesses successfully demonstrate environmentally-friendly operations, support for the well being of local communities, conservation of biodiversity and the preservation of cultural heritage,” said Costas Christ. “The Tourism for Tomorrow Awards are really about sharing lessons learned so that others can see it is possible to embrace sustainable tourism principles while also operating a profitable business.”

    The Tourism for Tomorrow Awards are endorsed by WTTC Members and other organizations. Travelport has been joined by The Leading Travel Companies Conservation Foundation as a strategic partner of Tourism for Tomorrow. Gold sponsors are Fairmont Hotels & Resorts and NM Rothschild & Sons. Media partners include BBC World, Breaking Travel News, e-Turbo News, Meltwater News, National Geographic Adventure, Newsweek, Telegraph Media Group, Travel Weekly UK, 4hoteliers and USA Today. Contributors are Adventure in Travel Expo, BEST Education Network, the Rainforest Alliance, Sustainable Travel International, the World Heritage Alliance, Reed Travel Exhibitions and World Travel Market.


    For more information about the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, please contact Susann Kruegel, Manager e-Strategy and Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, on +44 (0) 20 7481 8007 or by email at – or visit

    Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

    Subscribe to My Comments Feed

    Leave a Reply